Researching Agents 101: Links and Resources

Studying_Scott_AkermanEarlier this month, I discussed some red flags to watch for when evaluating agents. I’ve also shared my tips for researching agents in the past. But I haven’t compiled a full list of some of the great resources I discovered before/during my own querying process. So, for this month’s Links and Resources post, I thought I’d share some of them with you. This is not by any means an exhaustive list, but I hope these resources will help in the querying process.

1. Publisher’s Marketplace is used by most publishing professionals, and many agents maintain pages detailing their sales and other information. Note that not all agents keep these pages updated, but it’s a good place to start. There is a monthly membership fee, though, so this may not be a feasible option for everyone.

2. AgentQuery is a really thorough database that’s easily searchable. It’s a great place to find agents and get more information about them.

3. QueryTracker is another great database that was indispensable to me while querying. Even if you don’t use their tracking system (I didn’t, as I preferred my own record-keeping method), the amount of information that it provides about each agent is incredibly helpful. You can also use their Who Reps Whom page to find agents by their client’s name.

4. Preditors and Editors is a great resource for ensuring that agents and agencies are reputable.

5. Writer Beware is another great resource for determining whether an agent/agency is legitimate.

6. Literary Rambles is a blog that offers extensive profiles for a large number of agents. While it’s not a comprehensive list of every agent, it’s a great way to find more information about agents you’re considering or discover someone new.

7. The Absoulte Write forum is another fantastic resource, especially for querying and researching the industry. Searching for an agent on the forum can lead to tons of great info. They also have a Bewares, Recommendations, and Background Checks page.

8. The SFWA has a page for “Thumbs Down” agencies here.

9. Author and former agent Nathan Bransford has a great post on How to Find a Literary Agent. It’s from 2008, but much of the information is still relevant.

 

Know any resources that should be on the list? Have any questions about writing YA? Let me know in the comments!

This post is part of my Links and Resources series. You can find previous posts in the series here, and follow the blog for all my new content about self-publishing, writing craft, and more. 

Looking for professional editorial services for your manuscript, cover copy, or submission materials? Check out my Services page for more info about what I offer.

Related Links:

-Agent Red Flags

-5 Steps for Researching Literary Agents

-10 Tips for Querying Agents

-Literary Agents 101: Links and Resources

One thought on “Researching Agents 101: Links and Resources

Leave a Comment

