Helpful Writing Resources

I’ve done many Links and Resources posts so far on specific topics, but recently someone asked me how and where to find more general writing resources. How do I find these links for specific topics? What are some general resources writers can use when they have questions? So I thought I’d do something a little different this month and offer some of my favorite resources for writers on a huge variety of topics. This is by no means an exhaustive list, but these are some of the first places I go to when looking for advice on specific topics.

1. Twitter. Believe it or not, Twitter can be a fantastic resource for writers for a number of reasons. Many of the blogs about writing and publishing that I follow are ones that I first discovered on Twitter. If you’re looking for more people in the writing community to follow, I suggest starting with this post, which offers 15 different lists full of helpful writing tweets. (Also, I will not-so-humbly suggest following me, since I share links to helpful posts on writing and publishing every day: @ceciliaedits.)

2. The Writer’s Knowledge Base, managed by Elizabeth S. Craig and Mike Fleming, is essentially a search engine for writers, containing links to thousands of posts on numerous topics. A quick search for a particular topic can list dozens of great resources. (Also, Elizabeth shares links to all of these posts on Twitter, so I highly recommend following her as well.)

3. Blogs. The vast majority of the resources that I share come from blogs that I’ve been following for years. I couldn’t possibly list them all, and which blogs you prefer will vary depending on what kind of books you write. Since I frequently work with YA and MG books, many of my favorites are primarily specific to kidlit, such as Pub(lishing) CrawlWritability, and Pub Hub. I’d suggest using the other resources I list in this post in order to find the blogs that are most relevant to you, and be sure to subscribe to see more of their content. Also, consider checking out the blogs of authors and agents that you like, since many of them share some great info.

4. The Absolute Write Water Cooler forums are a really fantastic resource for writers. Even if you don’t want to participate in the conversation yourself, you can find information on just about every writing and publishing topic. And if you do participate in the conversation, you can make friends with other writers here, too.

5. Debut groups! This is also a bit kidlit specific and less prevalent for adult fiction and nonfiction, but you might be surprised. Many debut authors form groups in order to promote their work, network with other writers, and share info about books and writing. While much of the content they share is promotional, obviously, many of them also share info and advice to help aspiring writers (after all, they were aspiring not too long ago). And regardless, paying attention to their forthcoming books is a great way to get a better sense of the current market. Some of this year’s groups for YA and MG are The Sweet Sixteens, Sixteen to Read, Waiting on 2016, and The Class of 2k16. And for next year’s group, check out The Swanky Seventeens. 

Have suggestions for other general resources? Have any questions? Let me know in the comments!

This post is part of my Links and Resources series. You can find previous posts in the series here, and follow the blog for all my new content about self-publishing, writing craft, and more. 

Looking for professional editorial services for your manuscript, cover copy, or submission materials? Check out my Services page for more info about what I offer.

Related Links:

Researching Agents 101: Links and Resources

Writing YA: Links and Resources

Word Counts 101: Links and Resources

Manuscript Formatting 101: Links and Resources

2 thoughts on “Helpful Writing Resources

Leave a Comment

