First Blogiversary Celebration and Giveaway!

One year ago, I wrote my first post here on the Lewis Editorial blog. I had no idea how lovely and receptive my readers would be, or how many of you would share my posts. I am beyond overwhelmed by the generosity of the writing community and your enthusiastic responses to this blog.

So, first and foremost, I want to say thank you. Whether you commented, shared, liked, read, followed, or provided any other form of support, this blog wouldn’t exist without you!

Second, I’d like to celebrate this milestone with a giveaway! One winner will receive a free critique of the first 250 words of their manuscript from me.

Rules:

  • Only 250 words will be critiqued (although you may finish the sentence). If you send more than that, I will only look at the first 250.
  • Only the first 250 words, please. It’s much more difficult for me to critique a selection from elsewhere in your manuscript, because I don’t have enough context. You can disregard quotes, author’s notes, dedication pages, or anything else that comes before the first page, but it should be the first 250 words of the actual text.
  • Your manuscript can be any draft—first, third, sixty-fifth, etc.—but be aware that the more polished it is, the more you’ll get out of the critique.
  • You must have it ready. Please send me your page in a timely manner after I contact you to let you know you’ve won. If you’re unable to do so, I’ll have to select another winner.
  • Keep in mind that this is a critique. I try to be as encouraging as possible, but I am also honest. If you don’t want to receive honest feedback, this critique is not for you.
  • There will not be a second round. I’m unable to look at revisions or additional material at this time (unless, of course, you’d like to purchase additional critiques from me.) I wish I were able to look at revisions, but unfortunately I can’t offer that at this time.

You have until midnight EST on Thursday, April 28 to enter.

Thanks again for your support, and good luck!

Enter by using Rafflecopter:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

4 thoughts on “First Blogiversary Celebration and Giveaway!

  1. Ellie P. says:

    Hi Cecilia! First of all, congratulations on a fabulous milestone!!! I love your site and get a lot out of it! Questions re the critique – should I send in my 250 or not – since it’s non-fiction? Also, what about the prologue? Should I start with that? Or… after that? Thanks so much!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ellie P. says:

    Cecilia, I’ve decided after rereading my first 250 words that it’s just not ready for prime time, as they say! I need to do some rethinking on this, so I won’t be entering your contest… this time around! Next time! :-)

    Like

Leave a Comment

