Helpful Writing Resources (Part 2)

Studying_Scott_AkermanPreviously, I shared some helpful general resources for writers. Today, I’d like to add some additional resources to the list, this time with some more specifics. These are some of my favorite posts, articles, and other resources both for writing and editing, as well as learning more about the publishing industry. When I share advice for writers, these are the links that I share most often. This is by no means an exhaustive list of helpful articles, but these are some of my favorite sources of information and advice on specific topics.

1. This post is about what I refer to as the “but/therefore rule,” which is one of the most useful and important writing tips I’ve heard. I use it when considering my own writing and find it tremendously helpful for plotting, pacing, and tension.

2. I love this series of essays by bestselling YA author Laini Taylor about the writing process.

3. Similarly, YA author Veronica Roth has several great posts about writing in the archives of her former blog. There are many that are worth reading, but I’m particularly fond of this one giving advice to young writers.

4. I’ve talked about word counts before, but if you want a more in-depth guide to word counts in children’s literature, I find this post by agent Jennifer Laughran to be incredibly informative.

5. If you struggle with writing synopses, you’re not alone! I’ve found this post on Pub(lishing) Crawl about writing 1-page synopses to be endlessly helpful.

6. Also from Pub(lishing) Crawl, here’s a great post on red flags in publishing contracts that serves as a starting point for that topic. There’s also this post on Pub Hub about contracts as well.

7. I’ve recommended Writer Beware many times before, but I simply couldn’t write this post without including it. It offers such important information for writers about how to recognize and avoid scams, bad deals, and more.

Have suggestions for other general resources? Have any questions? Let me know in the comments!

This post is part of my Links and Resources series. You can find previous posts in the series here, and follow the blog for all my new content about self-publishing, writing craft, and more. 

Looking for professional editorial services for your manuscript, cover copy, or submission materials? Check out my Services page for more info about what I offer.

Related Links:

Helpful Writing Resources

Cliches 101: Links and Resources

Worldbuilding 101: Links and Resources

Word Counts 101: Links and Resources

Leave a Comment

