Writing Voice 101: Links and Resources

1280px-Stipula_fountain_penI’ve talked about voice several times before (including this recent post on middle grade voice), but it’s such a complex and important topic that I thought it might be useful to share some of my favorite posts and resources. (Many of these are focused on young adult and middle grade voice, but I hope there are some useful tips for everyone). Here are some great links for learning more about voice:

1. Breaking Down Authorial Voice by author Talia Vance

2. Voice: The Right Words by author Jenny Martin

3. Teen Voice by NYT-bestselling YA author Maggie Stiefvater

4. Four Steps to Nailing Your Character’s Voice on YA Highway

5. When I Talk About Voice, This Is What I Mean by agent Janet Reid

6. Sounding Too Adult by agent Kristin Nelson (for kidlit writers)

7. Advice for Young Writers on Creating a Strong Voice by Junot Diaz

8. YA author Ava Jae has several great posts on voice on her blog, including:

~~~~

What do you think? Are there any links or resources about voice that I missed? Let me know in the comments!

This post is part of my Links and Resources series. You can find previous posts in the series here, and follow the blog for all my new content about self-publishing, writing craft, and more. 

Looking for professional editorial services for your manuscript, cover copy, or submission materials? Check out my Services page for more info about what I offer.

Leave a Comment

