Book Marketing Tasks in 15 Minutes or Less

illustration-of-books-pvRecently, I’ve been feeling overwhelmed by my book promotion to-do list. It seems there’s always an infinite number of marketing tasks. While I remember to carve out time for the biggest ones, I think it’s the little things that often fall through the cracks. It can take me weeks to get around to making a simple website update, for instance, even though the task itself takes less than five minutes. 

With that in mind, I’ve set a new goal for myself. I’m going to start setting aside 10-15 minutes each work day to tackle the quick, tiny tasks on my list. Ideally I’ll be able to cross off at least one or two a day, and this will help me keep on top of my ever-growing list.

If you’d like to try a similar method, here are some of the promotional tasks on my list:

  • Plan and schedule blog content
  • Brainstorm blog post ideas
  • Update status on social media
  • Update social media profiles and bios
  • Update author website
  • Update Amazon Author Central page
  • Clean up books’ Amazon pages
  • Redesign email newsletter template
  • Collect and update information for media/press kit
  • Create/update graphics for social media posts
  • Make sure book info is updated across all platforms
  • Update pages on blog
  • Update books’ online copy
  • Order more mailing supplies for promotional mailings
  • Update mailing lists for promotional mailings
  • Package swag or books for promotional mailings
  • Update contacts list for sending out event invites
  • Order more swag from the printer
  • Sign swag for upcoming events
  • Back up website and blog
  • Call event venue to confirm event details
  • Write new press release
  • Read blog posts and save links to tweet
  • Schedule blog post tweets for the week
  • Call local bookstores to ask about stock
  • Update interview/press post spreadsheet
  • Update school visit flyer and forms
  • Schedule promotional posts on social media for upcoming events

I’m sure there are many more tasks I’m forgetting, but this is my list for the moment! If you’re currently promoting a book, I hope this list is helpful to you. If not, I hope this gives you a small sample of the kind of promotional work that authors do.

What do you think? What tasks would you add to this list? Have any additional ideas for 10-15 minute marketing? Have any questions? Let me know in the comments!

Interested in professional editorial services for your manuscript? Check out my Services page for more information about what I offer.

Related Links:

7 Tips for a Successful Book Launch

The Best Marketing Materials for Your Book

7 Tips for Using Swag to Promote Your Book

5 Tips for Promoting Standalone Books

One thought on “Book Marketing Tasks in 15 Minutes or Less

  1. lynettedavis says:

    Having just released my memoir, I can attest to your list of things to do. What I’ve been doing is working on three things each day. If I don’t finish one of the projects, I just carry it over to the next day. I have been very successful with this approach. Although, I allot myself a lot more time than 15 minutes.

    Like

Leave a Comment

